Yogi Aditanath as CM of UPBJP won UP by a three-fourth majority. Adityanath’s name was proposed by BJP leader Suresh Khanna and supported by Union Information and Broadcasting Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu.

Adityanath and the others will be sworn in at Lucknow’s Smriti Upvan on Sunday at 2.15 pm at a ceremony to be attended by Modi and BJP president Amit Shah. Adityanath will be the 21st CM of UP. Dinesh Sharma, and Keshav Prasad Maurya will assist him in governance as deputy chief ministers.This is for the first time that the state will have two deputy chief ministers.

In his first, brief interaction with the media after his selection, Adityanath promised to follow Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ‘Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas’ agenda, and strive for “good governance”.

Known for his firebrand Hindutva image, Adityanath is the head of the Gorakhnath Mutt , which has millions of followers from eastern UP and neighbouring Nepal. He will be the first chief minister from Eastern Uttar Pradesh since Rajnath Singh in 2002.

Union minister M Venkaiah Naidu, who was the central observer for the election of the legislature party leader along with BJP general secretary Bhupendra Yadav, said Adityanath was a unanimous choice of the party’s 312 MLAs. Naidu said Yogi himself asked for two deputies saying UP was a big state, and added that Maurya and Sharma were then chosen by party leaders. Keshav Prasad Maurya, named as one of the two deputy chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh today,representing Phulpur in the Lok Sabha. He was said to be one of the top contenders for the chief ministership after the landslide victory secured by the party in the state. Dinesh Sharma,another deputy of yogi, is a national vice president of the party. He is a Lucknow University professor apart from being the city’s mayor.

The post Yogi Adityanath named UP Chief Minister appeared first on Civil Services Strategist.

Powered by WPeMatico